Santa Barbara International Film Festival Recap

February 14, 2018

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival, held from January 31st-February 10th, just came to a close, marking another year of groundbreaking film, celebrity visits, and beautiful events.  Here are some of the awards you should know about:


Maltin Modern Master Award: Gary Oldman.  This is the highest award given by the festival.


Outstanding Directors: Guillermo Del Toro: The Shape of Water.  Greta Gerwig: Ladybird.  Christopher Nolan: Dunkirk.  Paul Anderson Thomas: Phantom Thread.  Jordan Peele: Get Out.


Cinema Vanguard Award: Willem Dafoe.  Given to actors who have taken risks in their career, and made a significant contribution to film through these risks.


Outstanding Performers: Margot Robbie, Allison Janney: I, Tonya.


Virtuoso Award: Daniel Kaluuya: Get Out.  Gal Gadot: Wonder Woman.  Hong Cahu: Downsizing.  John Bedoga: Detroit.  Kumail Nanjiani: The Big Sick.  Mary J. Blige: Mudbound.  Timothee Chalet: Call Me By Your Name.  Given to actors who distinguished themselves in performances the previous year. 


Santa Barbara Award: Saoirse Ronan: Lady Bird.  Given to a person in the entertainment industry who has made a great contribution to film through their performance. 


What a great city to win an award in!


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

Accessory Dwelling Units (ADU's)~What's the Deal?

November 9, 2017

Please reload

Recent Posts

October 10, 2018

October 2, 2018

Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags